Los Rojinegros came back from a difficult first half to take the three points at Veracruz with a 2-1 victory against Tiburones Rojos, in Matchday 4 of the Apertura 2019 season.

La Academia put pressure early on the locals, and created some chances in the first 10 minutes. After that, Veracruz shocked our Rojinegros, striking first in the game with a header from Matias Menendez. The urgency showed by Tiburones Rojos was a problem for Atlas, as they had some issues creating chances, one free kick from Marcelo Correa and a low driven shot taken by Osvaldito Martinez were the best opportunities for Los Zorros in the first 45 minutes.

Back luck emerged for the visitors, as the referee granted a penalty kick for Veracruz at the final instants of the first half. Fortunately, a spark of good luck came for Atlas, as Kazim Richards missed the potential second goal for his team. Unfortunately for him, Richards came out injured after the penalty.

The hosts came out the second half with an all attack approach, looking to expand their lead. Atlas took advantage of that and found the tying goal from a counterattack that Correa finished with the ball at the back of the net at the 53th minute.

Veracruz kept on the pressure, and Los Rojinegros didn’t change their gameplan. At the 76th minute, a controversial play happened at the Tiburones area. The referee looked up at the VAR and gave La Academia a penalty kick, which was converted by Osvaldo Martinez to give Atlas the lead, a lead they would not give up.

What’s next?

With nine points in four games, Los Rojinegros need to embrace a challenging game against Cruz Azul next Friday night at the Jalisco, where they will try to win their second home match of the Apertura 2019 season.

Veracruz (Menendez 10′) 1-2 Atlas (Correa 53′, Martinez 76′)

Veracruz: S. Jurado, C. Gutierrez, L. Kontogiannis, J. Paganoni, L. Galicia, B. Carrasco (A. Reyna 77′), S. Rodriguez (C. Salcido 70′), A. Gonzalez, K. Richards (D. Chavez 45′), D. Villalva, C. Menendez.

Atlas: C. Vargas, J. Gomez (M. Cuero 43′), M. Nervo, J. Segura, D. Barbosa, E. Zaldivar, L. Reyes, O. Martinez (A. Santamaria 81′), J. Isijara, A. Andrade (D. Aguilar 67′), M. Correa.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here